Home In The News Webinar – How to Design an X-band MMIC PA

Webinar – How to Design an X-band MMIC PA

119
0
How to Design an X-band MMIC PA
Keysight Technologies Webinar presented by Plextek RFI
Thursday 2 March 2017, 15:00 GMT 

Keysight Technologies will host a free webinar on How to Design an X-band MMIC PA, presented by Stuart Glynn, Senior Consultant Engineer at  Plextek RFI, on Thursday 2 March at 15:00 GMT (07:00 PST/10:00 EST).

More about the Webinar

Active phased-array radars require numerous, small, efficient and low-cost Power Amplifiers (PAs). GaN technology offers transistors with high breakdown voltages and high maximum operating temperatures make them well suited to the realization of PAs. Typical output power requirement for each transmitting element of a phased array radar are around 5 to 10W. This is a relatively modest requirement for GaN, the key with this design was to implement a PA that is efficient and compact, as die area translates directly to unit cost. This presentation goes step-by-step in describing how to design an X-band PA MMIC that covers 9 – 11.5 GHz using Keysight EEsof EDA’s ADS software. The MMIC has an output power of 7W (38.5 dBm) from a 29dBm drive with a Power Added Efficiency (PAE) of 42 percent. The design was realized on the 0.25µm gate length GaN on SiC process of UMS (GH25). The resulting die size is just 1.5 mm x 2 mm, meaning that around 2,300 PAs can be fabricated on a single 4” diameter wafer. Details of the design approach, the simulated performance, the layout, the electromagnetic simulation and optimization, as well as the measured performance will be presented during the webcast.

Please follow Plextek RFI on Twitter (@PlextekRFI) and LinkedIn, or visit their website at www.plextekrfi.com

(119)

print

LEAVE YOUR COMMENT